Workflow Management

Description

The Workflow Management module provides a simple interface to create and manage workflows. The creation and design of the workflow is done in the Workflow Designer.

Module Interfaces

Interface Description Required Privilege
Workflow Management Allows access to Workflow Management page. mod-workflows
Workflow Management Allows to edit workflows metadata, such as role access. mod-workflows-edit
Workflow Management Allows access to Workflow Designer page. mod-workflow
Workflow Management Allows to edit workflows. mod-workflow-edit

Add Workflow

To add a workflow, click on the “Add” button at the upper right corner of the page.

The “New Workflow” dialog box will appear.

In the “Name” field, key in an unique name for the new workflow. In the “Copy From” field, you can either select “Blank Workflow” to create a blank workflow or copy from an exisitng workflow from the drop-down list. Select the appropriate database, database collection and ETL chainset from their respective drop-down list.

Click on the “OK” button to create the new workflow or click on the “Cancel” button to abort the action.

If the name of the workflow already exist, an error message will appear.

Upon successful creation, the new workflow will appear in the Workflow Management page.

Refresh Page

After performing actions on the browser/tab, the list is reloaded to display the list of workflows. The manual “Refresh” button is available and is particularly useful if you have opened multiple pages and are making changes in these pages.

The “Refresh” button is found on the upper right corner of the page. Clicking on it reloads the list of workflows.

Upload Workflow

This feature allows you to upload a workflow into the Workflow Management page. To upload a workflow, click on the “Upload” button on the upper right corner of the page.

The “Upload Workflow” dialog box will appear.

In the dialog box, browse to the location of the workflow to be uploaded. Key in an unique name for the workflow and click on the “OK” button. Click on the “Cancel” button to abort the action. If the workflow with the same name already exists, an error message will appear.

If the workflow is to overwrite an existing workflow, select the “Overwrite” field in the “Upload Workflow” dialog box before clicking on the “OK” button.

Edit Workflow

This feature allows you edit the properties of the workflow, enable/disable the workflow, as well as add roles to the workflow. To edit the workflow, click on the “Edit” icon under the “Actions” column corresponding to the desired workflow.

The “Edit” panel will appear.

In the Properties panel, edit the fields as required. If the “Name” field is to be edited, do note that the name need to be unique. You can enable or disable the workflow by selecting or unselecting the the “Enabled” field.

In the Roles panel, select the roles you wish the to allow access to the workflow.

Click on the “Save” button to save the changes. Clicking on the “Cancel” button aborts the action.

An enabled workflow is shown in the Workflow Management page with a green tick under the “Enabled” column, while a disabled workflow is shown with a red cross. A disabled workflow cannot be opened. You need to enable it to open the workflow.

Open Workflow

To open a workflow allows you to access the Workflow Designer to edit the workflow. You need to have the mod-workflow-edit privilege to do so.

Click on the “Edit” icon under the “Actions” column corresponding to the desired workflow.

The Workflow Designer page will appear.

Refer to Workflow Designer for more information.

Download Workflow

To download a workflow, click on the “Download” icon under the “Actions” column corresponding to the desired workflow.

The download workflow is a JSON file.

Delete Workflow

To delete a workflow, click on the “Delete” icon under the “Actions” column corresponding the desired workflow.

There is an option to undo the deletion. A notification with an “Undo” button appears right after clicking on the “Delete” icon.

Upon clicking on the “Undo” button, the deleted workflow is restored and is added back to the list of workflows.

Search

There is a cross-field search function for the list of workflows. It is located at the upper left corner of the page.

This provides an easy way to search through the workflow list. It is case-insensitive and display workflows that have the entered search value in any of the values of the fields below:

  • Name
  • Database
  • Collection
  • Chainset
  • Owner
  • Roles
  • Last Modified